My 6th Grade Back Pack Project

Hi there! This is my first blog and I hope you enjoy. Over the summer we read a book called Finding Someplace about a girl named Reesie who’s 13th birthday occurs on the day that Hurricane Katrina hits New Orleans. While she takes shelter in her elderly neighbors house  her parents are busy helping the workforce. When we came back to school we started a project.

Taken by: Me

Then, we wrote an essay on who we thought was the hero of the story.

Then, she asked us to write an essay on who we thought was the hero of the story:

In my opinion Andre is the hero of Finding Someplace, here are my reasons why:

1. First off, Andre is scrappy. I think this because he lied about Mr.s Martine being his grandma which ended up saving Mr.s M’s life. He’s also scrappy because when everyone needed it he found a way to get them to the top of the house and to safety.

2. Next, Andre is optimistic. Andre is optimistic because the whole time they were stuck in the attic of Mr.s M’s house Andre always had hope they would make it out and everything would be ok. He also he also had the same attitude when Mr.s M got sent away to get help.

3. Andre is also caring. I think he is caring because when anyone was sad like Eritrea of Reesiehe would help them feel confident and strong again by comforting them.

4. Finally, I think Andre is brave. I think this because to survive a very deadly hurricane and save three other people while hardly surviving at all is one of the bravest thing I can think of!

This is why I think Andre Knight is the hero of Finding Someplace.

Finally, in class our teacher asked us what we would pack if we were stuck in a hurricane.

Taken by Me

One thought on “My 6th Grade Back Pack Project”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *